Shasta Speedway, Anderson, CA

RACE DATE: October 9, 2021


By Nadine Strauss

Cody Braund of Redding drove the Sal Lopez modified wire to wire to win the 6th annual “Lloyd Burton Against the Wind Challenge” at Shasta Speedway Saturday night. It was the final race of the 2021 season for the North State Modfied Series, presented by Protect the Harvest and sponsored by Lucas Oil. Braund’s brother, Keith Bloom of Anderson, driving for Steve Thomas, finished a close second with Scott Winters of Tracy placing third, earning enough points to secure the 2021 North State Modified Series championship.

Fourth place finisher, Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville had the fastest car for the weekend, setting a new Hoosier Tire track record of 15.952 earning the O’Reilly Fast Time Award. Winters and Randy Houston also clocked in under the previous track record with 15.969 and 16.038 second laps respectively.

Eight cars were inverted for the 60 lap feature with Braund and Richie Potts scheduled to share the front row. During the warm-up laps Pott’s developed throttle problems, pitted for repairs and fell in at the back of the pack to take the initial start. This moved Josh Bews, subbing for Ian Elliott, to the front row. Braund pulled ahead at the drop of the green flag with both Rich Cobb and Bloom moving up to second and third.

Bloom moved under Cobb to assume second on lap seven as Braund was pulling away from the pack. Potts retired to the pits on lap 14 just as the lapping process began. Two rounds later Sal Lopez retired his mount.

Meanwhile in mid-field Winters was fighting Houston for fifth, and when Houston drifted high both Winters and Sullivan gained position. Sullivan moved to the outside groove on lap 22 and drove side-by-side with Winters until Bews drove high forcing Sullivan to get back in line.

02 96  At the Sunoco half-way marker Braund and Bloom had a half-lap advantage over Winters, Sullivan,          Houston, Cobb, Dustin DeRosier, Bews and Orion Mosher.

 Lap 35 saw Braund catch the back of the pack where he put both Bews and Cobb one lap down. Winters   struggled to get by the slower cars until lap 50, but at that point there was not enough time in the non-stop   event to catch Braund and Bloom.

 Braund did a burn-out in front of the crowd to express his excitement. It was Braund’s first NSMS win since 2015 at Stockton 99 Speedway.

The Burton family presented the $1500 check and personalized trophy to Braund, and his name will be engraved on the perpetual trophy as the sixth winner of the on-going event.

Potts was the $100 Lucas Oil Dash for Cash winner. Cobb finished second for $50. Both Potts and Cobb took home the Scribner Plastic Jugs. Thepotts Frank's Radios gift cards went to Houston, Potts and Mosher. The Naake Shocks awards went to Braund for leading every lap, and Cobb for being the only out-of-state driver to compete in every NSMS race this season.

The next event for the North State Modified Series will be the 2021 Championship Awards Banquet on January 15 at Granzella’s Banquet Hall in Williams, CA.

The North State Modified Series would not be possible without the support of Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Economy Heating and Air of Roseville and Nashville, Tennessee, Sullivan Construction and Masonry, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Supercuts, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Vogel’s RVs, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Scribner Plastics, Mort Houston, McMurray & Sons Roofing, and Frank’s Radios.

Hoosier Tire Qualifying:

Darrin Sullivan 15.952 (New Track Record), Scott Winters 15.969, Randy Houston 16.038, Keith Bloom 16.076; Josh Bews 16.209, Rich Cobb 16.210, Richie Potts 16.326, Cody Braund 16.363, Dustin DeRosier 16.460, Sal Lopex 16.939, Orion Mosher 17.124

Lucas Oil Dash for Cash:

Richie Potts, Rich Cobb, Keith Bloom, Josh Bews, Cody Braund, Randy Houston.

Lloyd Burton Against the Wind Modified Challenge:

Cody Braund, Keith Bloom, Scott Winters, Darrin Sullivan, Dustin DeRosier, Randy Houston, Rich Cobb, Josh Bews, Orion Mosher, Sal Lopez, Richie Potts.