Story by Steven Blakesley and Nadine Strauss /| Photos by Jenna Meyer & Don Bloom

MADERA, CALIF. (May 8, 2021) – 2020 Protect the Harvest North State Modified Series champion Kyle Tellstrom of Ukiah charged from 18th starting position to win Saturday’s Mission Modified 60-lap feature at Madera Speedway. The victory paid a total of $2000 including a $1000 bonus from Terry Deal’s Economy Heating and Air after Tellstrom elected to start at the rear of the field.

“(It took a) little bit of patience. Man I’ve just had a lot luck here and a lot of success. This place has been so good to me. Fits my driving. Did what we had to do and stayed disciplined,” Tellstrom said. “Early there it was kind of rough. Once I got clear of a couple of cars, I got the right restart, got to the outside and it just opened up for me.”Tellstrom famile

A caution flew immediately at the start when a 3-wide situation occurred among Keith Bloom of Redding, Rich Cobb of Oregon and Bakersfield’s Jim Coffey, resulting in Cobb spinning in turn 4. Chris Lyon of Greely Hill also spun to avoid Cobb’s stalled car.

When action resumed, Coffey went around the outside of Simi Tour to lead lap one. Dustin DeRosier of Cloverdale worked to the inside and took the lead on lap four. Cobb and Utah’s Jeff Longman spun in turn one for a caution on lap six.

27 12DeRosier battled side-by-side with Ian Elliott of Lakeport for the lead but held the position. 2019 North State Modified Series champion Scott Winters of Tracy passed Hesperia’s Eddie Secord for third. Tellstrom advanced to sixth by the 17th lap. He then went two-for-one on the inside of Secord and 2020 Roseville and Ukiah champion Jason Philpot of Sacramento to grab fourth.

The top-four went two-by-two with Elliott sweeping around DeRosier for the lead on lap 24. Tellstrom went upstairs to follow him into second as well. A caution flew on lap 27 for Mike Neilson spinning in turn one. Elliott chose the inside for the restart and Tellstrom immediately took over the lead. The caution fell once more for Longman spinning on the front stretch on lap 29.

Winters advanced to the second position but couldn’t capitalize on a late restart to challenge for the victory. Tellstrom won by 1.791 seconds over Winters, Elliott, DeRosier, and Philpot. Philpot won a $750 bonus as the top finishing GM 602 Crate Engine, persevering over a long battle with Keith Bloom, Jr. Secord won $500 as the second highest finishing crate with Kern County Raceway champion Jim Coffey earning $250 for third place finisher among the crates.

Tellstrom also set a new Hoosier Tire track record of 14.789 seconds and won the Naake Hard Charger Award. Neilson won the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash.

The next race for the North State Modified Series will be at Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka on June 5.

The North State Modified Series would not be possible without the support of Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Sullivan Construction and Masonry, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Scribner Plastics, Mort Houston, McMurray & Sons Roofing, Frank’s Radios, Economy Heating & Air, and Mission Foods.



Kyle Tellstrom, Scott Winters, Ian Elliott, Dustin DeRosier, Jason Philpot, Keith Bloom, Brian Collins, Eddie Secord, Rich Cobb, Jim Coffey, Jeff Longman, Mike Neilson, Darrin Sullivan, Ed Coffey, Chris Lyon, Simi Tour, Rick Avila, Sal Lopez, Kylei Keown DNS


Jason Philpot, Eddie Secord, Jim Coffey


Mike Neilson, Keith Bloom, Eddie Secord, Jeff Longman, Jim Coffey, Ed Coffey


Tellstrom (14.789 NTR), Winter (14.963), Elliott (15.072), Philpot (15.099), DeRosier (15.101),

Collins (15.140), Cobb (15.188), Bloom (15.193), Tour (15.242), J Coffey (15.245), Secord (15.326), Longman (15.330), Neilson (15.409), Sullivan (15.412), E Coffey (15.531), Lyon (15.738), Avila (16.105), Lopez (16.105), Keown (DNQ)