North State Modified Series (NSMS), presented by Protect the Harvest, concluded its covid-shortened 2020 season with no spectators in the stands, but the participation was as competitive as ever with full fields of cars at each venue. It was a close battle all season long, but at the end it was Kyle Tellstrom of Ukiah who came out on top and will reign as the 2020 North State Modified Series champion.

It was Tellstrom’s first full year with NSMS, and he started out by setting fast time at Lakeport Speedway in July and then went on to win the “O’Reilly Auto Parts 60” that same night. He backed that up in September with another fast time at the “Napa Lake Parts Fall Special” at Lakeport and finished second to Charlie Collins of Upper Lake in the feature.

Tellstrom was quickest again at Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka later that month, but was only able to bag a sixth place finish in the “McMurray & 5kSons Roofing 60.” It was Santa Rosa’s Cameron Austin who was victorious that night.

Tellstrom was the defending champion of the 2019 “Lloyd Burton Against the Wind Challenge”, and although he clocked in second quickest, he piloted his way to the front to win the prestigious event again in 2020 at Shasta Speedway in Anderson.

The season finale’ at Stockton 99 Speedway saw Tellstrom come from the back to finish third behind Austin and Darrin Sullivan in the inaugural “Bob Lehman Classic.”

Finishing second in points is 2019 NSMS champion Scott Winters of Tracy. Winters had the fastest car at the final two NSMS events this year, and placed in the top five three times, including a second at Shasta, and a third and fourth at the two Lakeport shows.

Third in overall points is Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville. Sullivan was the 2016 NSMS Rookie of the Year. The following season he won the 2017 Memorial Day race At Redwood Acres Raceway as well as the Lloyd Burton Challenge at Shasta. Sullivan only finished out of the top five one time in 2020.

2020 Lakeport Speedway modified champion Mike Sullivan of Kelseyville also ran every race with North State this season to earn a fourth place in the standings. It was Mike Sullivan’s first year running in the series, earning him the 2020 North State Modified Series Rookie of the Year title.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Scribner Plastics, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Economy Heating and Air, GASCO and Mort Houston.