Anderson, CA…… Promoters of the North State Modified Series have announced that the Grand Finale’ event at Shasta Speedway on October 14 will be the final race for the NSMS traveling group. Jeff Stephens, Bob Strauss and Nadine Strauss are retiring the NSMS after having 10 successful seasons with the modified drivers at eight different racing facilities.

“The cost of racing and traveling has just gone through the roof these past 3 seasons” said co-promoter Bob Strauss. “And none of us are getting any younger. We tried turning the series over to some younger folks last year, but that did not pan out.”

“The series ran its first race at Shasta Speedway on May 3, 2014 and it will run its last race at Shasta Speedway next weekend,” Nadine Strauss said. “We have enjoyed every season and thank all the drivers, fans, and track promoters who have supported us these past 10 years.”

The final NSMS race at Shasta will pay $1,500 to win the 60 lap race with $1,000 going to second place and $800 going to third. The payback has increased for all finishing positions courtesy of long-time supporters Mark and Sharon Baldwin of Fortuna, Doyce Eaton of Dundee, Oregon, and the NSMS.

Going into the final NSMS points race, defending champion Scott Winters of Tracy is out in front of Ian Elliott of Lakeport by 51 points. It is possible to earn 85 points at each race, so the championship is not decided yet.

Third in points is currently held by Eureka’s Brandon White, followed by Sal Martinez of Kelseyville, and Eric Price II from Meridian.

Sixth through 10th points contenders are Calvin Hegje of Sacramento, Rick Avila from Pleasanton, Kylei Keown from Redwood Valley, Eureka’s Orion Mosher and Sammy Nuno from Windsor.

An October 13 Friday practice will precede the racing action at Shasta beginning at 4:00pm. Pits open at 9:00 am on Saturday with practice starting at 11:00 am. Other classes running will be the Super Late Models, Bombers and Hornets.

The North State Modified Series wants to thank all of its 2023 partners and sponsors including Sunoco Race Fuels, Racer Bling, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Doyce Eaton, Scribner Plastics, McMurray & Sons Roofing, Frank’s Radios and O’Reilly’s Auto Parts.