Scott Winters


August 5, 2023…. Anderson, CA.…. Defending champion and current NSMS points leader Scott Winters of Tracy appears to be unbeatable in the North State Modified Series action as he captured his fourth consecutive victory in this open Scott winsmodified tour at Shasta Speedway Saturday night. Winters also set fast time over the field with a 16.265 second lap to securing the O’Reillys Auto Parts Fastest Qualifier award.

The 60 lap Twyman Plumbing modified feature event started a totally inverted field with John Baker of Anderson and Calvin Hegje of Sacramento in the front row. Kelseyvlle driver Sal Martinez blew an engine in the dash for cash, allowing Ian Elliott of Lakeport and Kylei Keown of Redwood Valley to start in row two, and Winters and Rick Avila of Pleasanton in the third row.

Hegje pulled ahead of Baker at the start with Keown following his line to take over second. Keown immediately challenged Hegje on the inside and pulled off the pass for the lead on lap two. Meanwhile Winters caught Hegje and took a look under him on lap four. Two rounds later Winters tapped Hegje in the rear slightly, but it was enough to make room for Winters to duck under him and move into second.

Elliott was next to challenge Hegje, passing him on lap eight to move into third. Both Winters and Elliott set their sights on the leader and caught Keown while she was putting a lap down on Rick Avila. Keown, Winters and Elliott ran nose-to-tail seven more laps until on lap 18 Winters finally moved to the high side. Winters ran along side Keown for two more rounds before making the winning pass on lap 19.

dash winnerThe battle for second waged he reKyleimaining circuits between Keown and Elliott, but she held him off all the way to the Sunoco Checkered flag. It was Winters’ fourth consecutive win with North State. Keown placing second, Elliott third, Baker fourth and Aliva fifth. Hegje retired early with engine woes, and Jarred Hess was unable to start also with engine problems.

Hegje won $100 in the Dash for Cash. Keown finished a $50 second with Sal Martinez coming in third. Keown earned the O’Reilly’s Hard Charger award for her two second place finishes. Frank’s Radios certificates went to Winters, Keown, Elliott, Baker and Avila.

The North State Modified Series is presented by Sunoco Race Fuels, Racer Bling, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Doyce Eaton, Scribner Plastics, McMurray & Sons Roofing, Frank’s Radios and O’Reilly’s Auto Parts.