Winters wins



fast timeJuly 22, 2023…. Lakeport , CA…. It was “Running Springs Heating & Air Night at the Races” Saturday night at Lakeport Speedway with the North State Modified Series, and once again it was Scott Winters of Tracy who set fast time and went on to claim his third consecutive NSMS victory in the non-stop 60 lap feature race. Ian Elliott of Lakeport, driving the Running Springs house car, finished second to Winters and also won the $100 in trophythe O’Reilly’s Auto Parts Dash for Cash.

Winters clocked in at 12.675 seconds followed by Richie Potts of Petaluma at 12.930 seconds. Pole setter Dustin DeRosier of Cloverdale battled with Elliott the first two rounds of the main event with Elliott forging ahead on lap three to pull out in front. Potts followed Elliott to take over second and began his bid for the lead. Potts moved to the high side, but when Elliott’s car pushed going into the turn, Potts dove under him and assumed the lead. As DeRosier was being funneled backwards, Winters slipped under Elliott on his way to the front.

Potts continued to lead the pack, with the battle for second being waged between Elliott and Winters. Winters finally settled into second place, dropping Elliott to third and Kelseyville driver Sal Martinez to fourth.

Winters caught up to Potts on lap10, and when Potts’ car pushed going into turn one, it was all Winters needed to fill the gap, pull along side of Potts, and take over the number one spot the following round. As Winters pulled away from the field, Elliott snuck under Potts, and the duo swapped places with each pass until Elliott’s efforts finally prevailed and he took over second place at the half-way marker.

Potts’ car continued to get loose allowing Martinez to drive under Potts. Again Potts drove his car in the outside groove next to Martinez for eight circuits before Martinez successfully moved into third place on lap 38. The remaining laps went without incident with Winters the $1000 winner at the Sunoco checkered flag followed by Elliott, Martinez, Potts and DeRosier.

pottsPotts earned the O’Reilly’s Hard Charger award with his two multi-lap outside groove runs. He also claimed $50 in the dash for cash and was the recipient of the Scribner jug along with Elliott. Frank’s Radios certificates went to Elliott, Potts, DeRosier, Winters and Martinez.

The next stop for the North State Modifieds will be at Shasta Speedway in Anderson on August 5, and then on to Stockton 99 Speedway on August 19 for the 3rd annual Bob Lehman Classic.

The North State Modified Series would not be possible without the support of Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Anderson Logging, Racer Bling, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Doyce Eaton, Scribner Plastics, McMurray & Sons Roofing, Frank’s Radios and O’Reilly’s Auto Parts.