May 7, 2022….. Anderson, CA. Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville once again led the field to the checkered flag to capture his second consecutive North State Modified Series (NSMS) victory at Shasta Speedway Saturday night. His back-to-back wins increased his 2022 points lead over defending champion Scott Winters of Tracy by 14 points. Sullivan also won the season opener two weeks ago at Stockton 99 Speedway.

Sullivan qualified second fast (16.183) to Winters fast time of 16.175. Winters drew the number six chip setting up the lineup with Lakeport’s Ian Elliott and Klamath Falls, Oregon driver Rich Cobb sharing the front row for the start of the 60 lap feature event. Elliott led the first five laps followed by Cobb, Cole Brown and Sullivan. Brown slid up the track on lap four and Sullivan took advantage of the situation and slipped under Brown for third place. The yellow lap flew on lap six when Foryst Souza’s car slapped the wall so hard it had to be towed to the pits. At the same time Jordan Smith retired his mount.

When racing resumed Cobb seemed to have the advantage and was slightly ahead of Elliott three rounds later when the race was slowed again for a John Baker spin. This time Cobb forged ahead and Keith Bloom drove under Elliott for second. Winters was on the move, passing Cody Braund for fifth on lap 14. At the half way mark it was Cobb, Bloom, Elliott, Darrin Sullivan, Winters, Braund, Brandon White, Brown, Dustin DeRosier, Mike Sullivan and Baker.

Darrin Sullivan drove under Elliott for third on 31 with Winters tight on Sullivan’s bumper to assume the fourth slot. On the 35th circuit Cobb’s car pushed high opening the door for Bloom to take over the lead. Next Sullivan drove under Cobb and once again Winters filled the hole dropping Cobb to fourth.

The final yellow fell on lap 37 when Cobb and Elliott tangled. Elliott pitted for repairs but was unable to return to action. This left Bloom and Sullivan side-by-side for the restart where Sullivan bolted out in front when Bloom spun his tires.

The final laps went smoothly with Darrin Sullivan taking home $1000 for the second time this season. Bloom held back Winters for a second place finish. Winters took third with Braund fourth and Brandon White (powered with the only 602 engine in the field) finishing fifth. Sixth through tenth went to Brown, DeRosier, Mike Sullivan, Cobb and Elliott. Sal Lopez’s motor broke during hot laps and he was unable to start the race.

Winters once again was presented with the O’Reilly’s Fast Qualifier award. Keith Bloom was the $100 winner in the Dash for Cash with White the $50 second place finisher. Bloom earned the O’Reilly Hard Charger Award for starting eighth and finishing second. The Naake Suspension certificate went to Mike Sullivan, and the Scribner jugs went home with Bloom and White. Recipients of the Frank’s Radio certificates were Braund, White and Brown.

The next stop for the North State Modified Series will be June 4 at Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka.

The North State Modified Series would not be possible without the support of Anderson Logging, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Ray Elliott, Doyce Eaton ,Scribner Plastics, Mort Houston, McMurray & Sons Roofing, and Frank’s Radios.