By Steven Blakesley & Nadine Strauss

MADERA, CALIF. (August 7, 2021) – 2019 North State Modified Champion and two-time Madera Speedway champion Scott Winters redeemed himself after a runner-up finish in May, dominating the 75-lap North State Modified feature for Mission Modifieds on MAVTV on Saturday night. Winters’ victory extends his points lead in the North State Modified Series and paid $1,000-to-win. The 75-lap feature on the one-third mile oval was a non-stop contest. The North State Modified Series is presented by Protect the Harvest.

Winters and new track record holder Kyle Tellstrom of Ukiah lined up on the fourth row after the invert. Winters won the chase to the front then enjoyedfAST TIME a 2.412 second advantage at the finish.

“I love Madera Speedway. Thank you Mission Foods for putting this on. I got to call out to my crew. They’ve worked hard. Last time we were here we blew an engine. The engine that blew we put back in the car. The team rebuilt it. Worked hard to get this chassis right and it showed in this race,” Winters said.

Dustin DeRosier of Cloverdale lined up outside Klamath Falls, OR’s Rich Cobb on the start but immediately took control of the event. Tellstrom advanced from eighth into fifth by lap five in car no. 5k. The leaders ran two-by-two for the third position for several laps. Darrin Sullivan ran third before falling behind the trio of Ian Elliott, Tellstrom, and Winters.

Tellstrom worked to the outside of Elliott of Lakeport on lap 20 as they closed on second place Cobb. Cobb got sideways in turn one on lap 25, going up the race track into the path of Tellstrom. Tellstrom had to lift, allowing both Elliott and Winters to pass on the inside. Cobb was shuffled to fifth in the batting as well.

The top-four cars of DeRosier, Elliott, Winters, and Tellstrom ran nose-to-tail by lap 28 with Winters going outside Elliott to take second on lap 33. Winters then worked inside of DeRosier for the lead, grabbing the position on lap 36. Elliott and Tellstrom battled for over ten laps for the second position before Tellstrom finally earned the spot on lap 48 with an inside pass.

Tellstrom was already a distant second to Winters in heavy lapped traffic by that point. A caution never fell to bunch up the field and Winters drove ahead over the final 27 laps for the win. Tellstrom finished second followed by Elliott, tenth starting Keith Bloom, DeRosier, Kylei Keown, Darrin Sullivan, Cobb and Cody Braund.

The 602 engine entries of Jason Philpot, Adam Coonfield and Charlie Collins finished 10th, 12th and 13th picking up the Economy Heating and Air $750, $500 and $250 bonuses. All 15 competitors earned extra tow money from Lucas Oil and Economy Heating & Air. Plus Winters will get another $1000 bounty from Terry Deal of Economy Heating and Air for being a previous NSMS champion and beating Kyle Tellstrom for the win.

12    Dustin DeRosier earned the Naake Hard Charger Award for leading the first 35 laps.

Charlie Collins won $100 in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash, beating Jason Philpot and Ian Elliott. Both Collins and Philpot took home the Scriber Plastic Jugs. The Frank’s Radios certificates went to Tellstrom, DeRosier and Bloom. Tellstrom DASHwas presented the O’Reilly’s Fast Time Award plaque by series promoter Bob Strauss.

The North State Modified Series takes a summer break until September 25 when they return to Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka for the richest event to date for the series. The first running of the “Dale Baldwin Challenge,” presented by McMurray & Sons Roofing, will pay $5000 to win.

The North State Modified Series would not be possible without the support of Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Economy Heating and Air of Roseville and Nashville, Tennessee, Sullivan Construction and Masonry, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Supercuts, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Vogel’s RVs, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Scribner Plastics, Mort Houston, McMurray & Sons Roofing, Mission Foods and, Frank’s Radios.

MISSION MODIFIEDS ON MAVTV 75 LAP FEATURE, presented by Economy Heating & Air

Scott Winters, Kyle Tellstrom, Ian Elliott, Keith Bloom, Dustin DeRosier, Kylei Keown, Darrin Sullivan, Rich Cobb, Cody Braund, Jason Philpot, Calvin Hegje, Adam Coonfield, Charlie Collins, Dustin Patterson, Rick Avila


Collins, Philpot, Elliott, Keown, Coonfield, Braund


Tellstrom (14.729 New Track Record), Winters (14.840), Elliott (14.959), Keown (15.013), Braund (15.063), Sullivan (15.070), DeRosier (15.076), Cobb (15.089), Philpot (15.240), Bloom (15.268), Coonfield (15.333), Hegje (15.341), Collins (15.425), Avila (15.791), Patterson (16.626)

Photos by Top Dawg Racing Photos