ANDERSON CA June 19, 2021 – The excessive heat wave took its toll on auto racing in Northern California Saturday as only nine teams made the long hot tow to Shasta Speedway for the North State Modified Series “Protect the Harvest 60.” But when the final curtain fell it was Scott Winters of Tracy who collected his second consecutive victory over Keith Bloom of Anderson, Rich Cobb of Klamath Falls, Oregon, Dustin DeRosier of Cloverdale and Ian Elliott of Lakeport.

Winters also set fast time of 16.104 on the hot, slick track and was awarded a special plaque courtesy of O’Reilly Auto Parts. Mike Neilson of Lakeport clocked in second fast at 16.209, Cody Braund of Redding was third quick at 16.274, and Keith Bloom turned a 16.296 second lap. The invert for the 60 lap feature was four, placing brothers Bloom and Braund, in the front row.

The first two laps saw Bloom and Braund run side-by-side until the race was slowed when Foryst Souza’s car suffered suspension failures and stalled in turn four. When racing resumed the brothers continued their battle for the lead until the yellow flew again for contact between Kylei Keown and Neilson that resulted in Neilson spinning in turn one.

Braund chose the outside lane for the restart and held the number one spot for two laps before Bloom forged ahead and took control of the race. Winters ran third and began his forward pursuit. On lap 14 Winters moved to the high side, and two rounds later he made the pass stick and moved into second place. Braund’s car over-heated, ending his run on lap 21.

Meanwhile, Bloom was enjoying a healthy lead, but Winters was on a mission and slowly reeled the leader in until they were running nose-to-tail by lap 25. Winters gave Bloom a slight bump in the rear on 27, and tried to drive under, but Bloom did not waiver and continued his lead.

The battled continued another nine circuits until Winters finally went to the outside and made the winning pass on the 40th go round. With only four to go, Keown suffered rear-end problems and her car stopped at the exit gate.

Winter forged ahead again at the final green and the 2019 NSMS champ sailed to the Sunoco checkered flag victory over Bloom, Cobb, DeRosier, Elliott and Neilson.

DASH WINNERDeRosier earned the Naake Hard Charger Award for starting last and finishing fourth. Cobb collected $100 for his win in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash and received a special-built clock trophy made from engine parts from Shasta Speedway. Braund finished a $50 second. Both Cobb and Braund picked up the Scribner Plastics jugs.

The Frank’s Radios certificates went to Ian Elliott, Mike Neilson and Kylei Keown. All drivers received tow money from Lucas Oil and Vogel’s RVs of Ukiah.

Next the North State Modifieds return to All American Speedway in Roseville for a 60-lap challenge against the NASCAR Jaws Gear & Axle Modifieds on July 10. This will be the inaugural event featuring the two classes competing together for the $1000 win.

The North State Modified Series would not be possible without the support of Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Economy Heating and Air, Sullivan Construction and Masonry, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Supercuts, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Scribner Plastics, Mort Houston, McMurray & Sons Roofing and, Frank’s Radios.


Scott Winters, Keith Bloom, Rich Cobb, Dustin DeRosier, Ian Elliott, Mike Neilson, Kylei Keown, Cody Braund, Foryst Souza


Rich Cobb, Cody Braund, Keith Bloom, Foryst Souza, Kylei Keown, Ian Elliott


Scott Winters (16.104), Mike Neilson (16.209), Cody Braund (16.274), Keith Bloom (16.296), Ian Elliott (16.387), Foryst Souza (16.412), Rich Cobb (16.436), Kylei Keown (16.453), Dustin DeRosier (16.478)