Eureka, CA…. Sept 24, 2022….. The North State Modified Series had a three-part event at Redwood Acres Raceway Saturday night with three different winners earning first place awards.

In the Steve Taylor Memorial Qualifying session it was Ian Elliott of Lakeport who turned the fastest lap of the night (16.309 seconds), and was presented the plaque and $100 from Sage Taylor of Cloverdale. Earlier Elliott was voted the Best Appearing Car and Crew and received that award and $250 from event sponsor Doyce Eaton of Dundee, Oregon.

The Dave McMurray Memorial Dash for Cash was open to the six highest drivers in the NSMS points standings who had never won a feature event with the series. The drivers drew for starting positions with Keith Bloom of Anderson and Elliott starting in the front row, Oregon driver Rich Cobb and local driver Orion Mosher set to start third and fourth, and Cloverdale’s Dustin DeRosier and Cole Brown from Ukiah in row three.

During the pre-race warm-up laps Cobb’s car broke a u-joint, allowing alternate Richie Potts of Petaluma to fill his starting spot. The eight-lap race saw Bloom power by Elliott at the drop of the green flag. Bloom was determined to stay out in front, and led every lap to the checkered flag. Elliott settled for second ahead of Potts, DeRosier, Brown and Mosher.

The race paid $1000 to the winner which was given to Bloom by Dave McMurray’s son and grandson, Dave McMurray II and III.

Other special awards recipients were Scott Winters (Doyce Eaton Long Tow Award $250), and Richie Potts (Doyce Eaton Hard Luck Award $250.)

The Dale Baldwin Challenge feature event, presented by McMurray & Sons Roofing, paid $4000 to winner Darrin Knight of Kelseyville (see separate story.)