winters wins


August 6, 2022….Madera, CA

North State Modified Series points leader Scott Winters of Tracy came back from his big win at Shasta Speedway two weeks ago to capture his second consecutive NSMS victory at Madera Speedway Saturday night over Sacramento’s Jason Philpot and Lakeport’s Ian Elliott.

fast timeWinters earned the O’Reilly’s Auto Parts fastest qualifier’s award when he clocked in at 15.046 seconds. Elliott was second fast at 15.101 seconds, Philpot turned a 15.125 second lap, and Anderson’s Keith Bloom was fourth quick at 15.155.

The four-car invert saw Bloom and Philpot share the front row for the start of the “Protect the Harvest 60” lap feature. At the drop of the Johnny Miskill green flag Bloom pulled slightly ahead. Philpot charged in the corner hard where he ran side-by-side with Bloom for four laps.

When Philpot’s car slipped slightly, causing him to pull back in line behind Bloom, Winters charged to the outside and inched by Philpot. The following round the yellow flag came out on lap seven for a Jordan Smith spin in turn two.

This put Winters next to Bloom for the double-file restart with Winters forging ahead going into turn three. Meanwhile in mid-pack both Calvin Hegje and Jordan Smith were battling with Dustin DeRosier. Hegje made the clean pass but dropped out of the race on lap 20 with rear end problems.

Winters and Bloom pulled away from the pack leaving the battle for third to Philpot and Elliott. The next incident happened on round 41 when Bloom’s front end suspension broke, he lost his steering, and came to a stop on the front stretch. Now it was Philpot’s turn to challenge the leader. He ran on the outside of Winters the next two circuits until the race was slowed again when Rick Avila’s transmission failed, ending his run.24 1

The restart saw Philpot challenge the leader again, and on lap 47 he dove completely under Winters, but could not make the pass stick. The remaining laps went unchanged with Winters claiming his second consecutive win. Philpot and Elliott were next to cross the Sunoco checkered flag followed by Smith and DeRosier.

Calvin Hegje was awarded the O’Reilly’s Hard Charger Award for running all six laps of the Dash for Cash on the outside of Smith, and pulling ahead on the final round for the $100 win. Smith settled for a $50 second place with Bloom third and Philpot fourth.

dash 1The Naake Suspension certificate went to Bloom, and the Scribner jugs went home with Elliott and DeRosier. Ian Elliott, Jordan Smith and Calvin Hegje received gift certificates from Frank’s Radios.

The months of September and October begin the North State Modified Tribute Tour with the “Bob Lehman Classic” on September 3 at Stockton 99 Speedway, the “Dale Baldwin Challenge” and “Steve Taylor Qualifying Event” at Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka on September 24, and the “Lloyd Burton Against the Wind Modified Challenge” on October 8 at Shasta Speedway in Anderson. Details of these upcoming special events can be found on the North State Modified Series Facebook page.

The North State Modified Series would not be possible without the support of Anderson Logging of Fort Bragg, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Ray Elliott, Doyce Eaton, Scribner Plastics, Mort Houston, McMurray & Sons Roofing, O’Reilly Auto Parts, and Frank’s Radios.