Winner and Crew

June 25, 2022….. Anderson, CA. On his first appearance of the season, Kyle Tellstrom of Ukiah returned to action with the North State Modified Series, fast timeset fast time over the 15 car field, took the lead away from Keith Bloom of Anderson on a lap 55 restart, and drove to victory in the Anderson Logging 60 at Shasta Speedway Saturday night. Tellstrom also earned both the O’Reilly Fast Time and Hard Charger awards.


It was the O’Reilly Auto Parts Night at the Races as well as a part of the Shasta County Fair activities. Tellstrom clocked in quickest at 16.293 seconds with defending NSMS champion Scott Winters of Tracy second fast at 16.323, NSMS points leader Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville next at 16.394, Lakeport’s Cameron Austin turning a 16.427, and Boom fifth quick with a 16.445 second lap.

Tellstrom drew the number eight chip to set up the inverted start placing Oregon driver Rich Cobb and Cloverdale’s Dustin DeRosier in the front row. The second row consisted of Cole Brown of Ukiah and Bloom, with Austin and Sullivan in row three, and Winters and Tellstrom sharing row four.

16 12Cobb and DeRosier ran side-by-side the first three laps until Bloom snuck under DeRosier to take over the runner-up spot on lap four. DeRosier lost ground in the outside groove to Sullivan, Brown and Tellstrom. Lap seven saw Bloom overtake Cobb for first, and the following round Sullivan moved into second place. By lap 10 Brown and Tellstrom had moved into third and fourth, dropping Cobb to fifth.

The first caution fell on lap 11 when Orion Mosher spun in turn four. Two laps later while attempting to pass for the lead, Sullivan made contact with Bloom with Sullivan spinning in turn two.

This put Bloom and Tellstrom side-by-side for the restart. Bloom once again shot out in front with Tellstrom, Brown, Austin and Winters next in line.114

The yellow flag fell again on lap 23 when Jordan Smith’s car lost power and slowed in front of the leaders. Bloom forged ahead on the restart, and at the same time Winters drove under Tellstrom to assume second. At the half way marker the running order was Bloom, Winters, Tellstrom, Austin, Brown, Cobb, Sullivan, Richie Potts, Kylei Keown, Calvin Hegje, Rick Avila and John Baker.

The second half of the race saw Bloom hold off the advances of Winters as the duo pulled away from the pack. DeRosier retired his car to the pits on the 39th circuit. With only five laps to go, Keown and Potts made contact, causing Potts to spin in turn four. Before one more lap had been completed Keown and Sullivan tangled to slow the action again. At the same time, under yellow conditions, Bloom and Winters rubbed wheels, with Winters suffering broke suspension parts.

The final restart saw Tellstrom out in front with Brown getting around Bloom for second. The race ended under yellow checkered with Tellstrom out in front of Brown, Austin, Bloom, Cobb and Potts. Keown, Sullivan, Hegje and Avila rounded out the top ten.

7cAustin was the $100 winner in the Dash for Cash with DeRosier the $50 second place finisher. The Naake Suspension certificate went to Jordan Smith, and the Scribner jugs went home with Smith and Sullivan. Recipients of the Frank’s Radio certificates were Cobb, Austin and Potts.

The North State Modified Series will be returning to Shasta Speedway on July 23.

The North State Modified Series would not be possible without the support of Anderson Logging, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Mark & Sharon Baldwin, Ray Elliott, Doyce Eaton ,Scribner Plastics, Mort Houston, McMurray & Sons Roofing, and Frank’s Radios.